Australian and Canadian researcher mobility cooperation strengthened

​The Department of Education and Training has successfully negotiated a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Mitacs, a not-for-profit Canadian organisation that coordinates university-industry research projects and delivers research and training programs.

The MoU was signed at a ceremony at the Canadian High Commission on 8 December 2016 by the Canadian High Commissioner, His Excellency Paul Maddison, on behalf of Mitacs and Deputy Secretary, Higher Education, Research and International, Mr David Learmonth, on behalf of the department.

Under the three year MoU, Mitacs will promote research mobility opportunities under the Endeavour Research Fellowships to Canadians through its Globalink program. Part of Mitacs’ role will be to solicit the participation of Indigenous and disadvantaged applicants. In return, the department will promote the benefits of Australians undertaking Endeavour Research Fellowships at Canadian universities.

“This MoU furthers our already strong bilateral partnership and represents the commitment of both countries to researcher mobility.

“The partnership means more individuals will have the opportunity to be at the centre of our global future. They can enjoy the benefits of international study and return home with new knowledge, experiences and networks to enhance their careers and personal growth,” Mr Learmonth said.

The MOU follows and builds on the 2015 agreement signed between Mitacs and Universities Australia which allows Australian undergraduate students to participate in the Mitacs’ Globalink Research Internships program in Canada.
The Endeavour Research Fellowship provides financial support for postgraduate students and postdoctoral fellows to undertake four to six months of research towards their Masters, PhD or postdoctoral research in Australia and Canada.

For further information on the MoU see Mitacs media release.

Australian Canadian RE mob coop.jpg

(L-R) H.E. Mr. Paul Maddison, High Commissioner of Canada to Australia, Ms. Belinda Robinson, Chief Executive Officer,
Universities Australia and Mr. David Learmonth, Deputy Secretary, Department of Education and Training at the signing ceremony.